Family-
Hello, how are you all? I hope things are going great there. I heard that you had a heat wave for a while and then just 2 days ago you got dumped with snow. Things are cooling off quite a bit here. the winters here are supposed to be very nice. I'm thinking that I may not have brought enough warm clothes. Maybe I've just become spoiled, but it gets pretty chilly when it rains now a days. I'll be alright though! :)
This has been kind of a tough week. My comp has been sick every day since we've been comps. The past 2 or 3 days she has had a cold. I become quite discouraged when we have to stay home because she is not feeling well. It makes me feel like I am being lazy. But I guess I just need to deal with it and help her not feel so sick all the time.
Mom, you've been asking a lot in your letters about the food. So, I guess you are pretty interested. I already told you some when I called, but I'll try to think of some more. They really don't do too much differently. Well, that's not true. The Zulu's and the Indians have their own foods. I haven't had either yet. But I have had a curry dish which is Indian, but a Zulu lady cooked it, so it really wasn't authentic. They do their curry here very hot, which is really nice. They have a lot of different juices here. They are always drinking juice. They have this one that is SICK! It's ginger root cool drink. It's this carbonated cook drink that tastes like ginger, YUCK! I guess the main differences in food are the names or what they call things i.e. biscuit is a cookie (a cookie is a part of the female anatomy) What we call a biscuit is a scone and what we call a scone is a fat cook. They just have things all confused! :) I have a hard time keeping things straight.
Saturday night there was a ward social. One of the Elders was being grouchy (He's South African by the way) so I went and asked him if he was being raunchy. He turned about 6 shades of red and suggested that I don't use that word again while I am in South Africa. I still don't know what it means here. I was feeling too stupid to ask.
Mom, you also asked what I eat as an average meal. I eat a lot of oatmeal. Right now, that's the thing I crave all the time. I just get the one minute oats and put in some raisins. I also eat A LOT of fruit. I usually have fruit and something like spaghetti for lunch. Then I usually eat a piece of fruit or more oatmeal for dinner. I know, it sounds like I eat the same thing all the time. I really don't (except for oatmeal) I actually cook a lot. It's not really the meals that were making me gain weight. It was all the sweets I was eating. But Sister Tolman and I have gone on a no sweets deal. The only time we do eat sweets is at a dinner appointment, so that is only once a week. I think that this will really help. I am also exercising a little bit every morning. Sister Tolman won't get out of bed to go walking or running so I do what I can in the flat. :)
Well, I guess I had better go. I love you all tons! Take care!
I love you!
Michelle :)
Sister Umhlamishi (oom-shla-mishi) - A member family gave me this name just last night. It's Zulu and means Sister Giraffe! :)
P.S. This afternoon we went out to our car and it was broken into. Someone broke the window. The only thing they stole was Sis. Tolman's Walkman. There wasn't anything else of value in it (and I cut my foot on the broken glass! :( But everything is o.k. We've just been spending the afternoon getting things fixed. Never a dull moment around here! :)
No comments:
Post a Comment